Mtshweni-Tsipane announces the new executive council.

The premier of Mpumalanga, Ms Refilwe Mtshweni-Tsipane recently introduced the members of the new executive council at a briefing held at the Council Chamber in the Ehlanzeni District Municipality.

Mtshweni said the people of Mpumalanga ordered the provincial administration to accelerate economic growth and to come up with solutions to the triple challenges of poverty, inequality and unemployment. She said the challenges were worsened by the COVID-19 pandemic.

“If we are to be equal to this mandate, it is our responsibility to ensure that this Government is capable, efficient and is strategically poised to oversee the efficient and optimal utilisation of public resources. It is in the spirit of optimising our effectiveness and ensuring that we deliver better services to the people of Mpumalanga whilst calibrating the Provincial economy, that I announce changes to the Executive component of the Provincial Government,” said Mtshweni-Tsipane.

She added that she has decided to reconfigure the Executive Council taking a number of considerations into account. She said these considerations include members who embody commitment, hard work, integrity and the non-negotiable commitment to bettering the lives of our people.

She announced that Speedy Mashilo will be responsible for the Department of Human Settlements, Busisiwe Shiba will be responsible for the Department of Co-Operative Governance and Traditional Affairs, Vusi Mkhatshwa will be responsible for Finance, Economic Development and Tourism, and that Mohita Latchminarain will be responsible for the Department of Public Works, Roads and Transport

“The following MECs will be moved from their incumbent portfolios to new portfolios; MEC Vusi  Shongwe will be responsible for the Department of Community Safety, Security and Liaison; MEC Thandi Shongwe will be responsible for the Department of Culture, Sport and Recreation; MEC Mandla Msibi will be responsible for the Department of Agriculture, Rural Development, Land and Environmental Affairs; and MEC Lindiwe Ntshalintshali will be responsible for the Department of Social Development,” she announced.

The premier said the performance of the new executive council will be monitored against specific outcomes and that action will be taken where there is non-performance. She added that the composition of the Executive Council re-affirms its commitment to advancing the development of capable female leaders who will continue to constitute 50% of the Executive Council.

“True to our commitment to providing a platform for capable youth leadership, we have included a significant number of young people who we trust will infuse vibrancy to re-invigorate the functioning of the Executive Council. As I conclude, I wish to express my appreciation to all the outgoing Members of the Executive. Your service to the people of Mpumalanga and your contribution to the development of the Province will forever be heralded in the history books of our beautiful Province,” she added.

Community Safety, Security and Liaison MEC Gabisile Shabalala, Finance and Economic Development MEC Pat Ngomane, Human Settlements MEC Norah Mabena-Mahlangu and Public Works Roads and Transport MEC Gilleon Mashego have been fired.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *